contact
September 22, 2017, 10:33:02 PM

Author Topic: Open Parser broke for one system?  (Read 536 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Phil M

  • Member
  • Posts: 1216
    • Facebook - phil.mcbride.3
    • Skype - thesevenlevels
    • Twitter - philipmcbride
    • View Profile
    • Phil Mc Bride
Open Parser broke for one system?
« on: July 11, 2014, 08:32:41 PM »
If you look at the two attachments to indicate the difference

Open parser will parse every system with the exception of 1:44

Screen caps taken from an account with no planets in 1:44 so the parse notification should be there

Is there a reason for this?
The darkest places in hell are reserved for those who maintain their neutrality in times of moral crisis.

Offline Mama

  • Member
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: Open Parser broke for one system?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2014, 11:19:40 PM »
I sent Matt a pm via skype about this over 12hrs ago.
Still not had a reply


Naughty One ;)

Offline Matt H

  • Blue Frog Gaming
  • Member
  • Posts: 4362
  • Community Manager
    • Facebook - matt.hirschfelt
    • LinkedIn - matthirschfelt
    • Skype - MattH_BFG
    • Twitter - MattHirschfelt
    • View Profile
    • Blue Frog Gaming
Re: Open Parser broke for one system?
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2014, 01:57:10 AM »
Are you using Firefox and Greasemonkey?

Any delay in response today is due to the fact that we closed the office today for an Employee Appreciation Day.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2014, 02:01:06 AM by Matt H »
Connect with BFG:
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
Official Website
  |
  |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Connect with me:
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
LinkedIn
Skype

Offline Phil M

  • Member
  • Posts: 1216
    • Facebook - phil.mcbride.3
    • Skype - thesevenlevels
    • Twitter - philipmcbride
    • View Profile
    • Phil Mc Bride
Re: Open Parser broke for one system?
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2014, 09:28:04 AM »
Are you using Firefox and Greasemonkey?

Any delay in response today is due to the fact that we closed the office today for an Employee Appreciation Day.

Yes Matt, screen caps were taken using Firefox and Greasemonkey with the open parser script.

Its just odd that only one system isnt parsable so whatever changes you made have knocked the parse script off
The darkest places in hell are reserved for those who maintain their neutrality in times of moral crisis.

Offline Matt H

  • Blue Frog Gaming
  • Member
  • Posts: 4362
  • Community Manager
    • Facebook - matt.hirschfelt
    • LinkedIn - matthirschfelt
    • Skype - MattH_BFG
    • Twitter - MattHirschfelt
    • View Profile
    • Blue Frog Gaming
Re: Open Parser broke for one system?
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2014, 02:41:22 PM »
I made a change to my server after you made this post and it is now parsing all systems correctly. The problem had to do with player names or alliance names with non-standard characters and my new server wasn't set up the handle that correctly.

However, Firefox has always been a thorn for me. When you're in your home system it'll always show a blue 'Not Parsed'. When you're outside of your home system, it waited to process a response from the server to show red, blue, or green parsed lettering at the bottom. Unfortunately, Firefox doesn't always seem to handle the response correctly and display that information even though the system has been parsed.
Connect with BFG:
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
Official Website
  |
  |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Connect with me:
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
LinkedIn
Skype

Offline Phil M

  • Member
  • Posts: 1216
    • Facebook - phil.mcbride.3
    • Skype - thesevenlevels
    • Twitter - philipmcbride
    • View Profile
    • Phil Mc Bride
Re: Open Parser broke for one system?
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2014, 03:25:14 PM »
ive never seen a red not parsed only a blue or green

non standard characters are a total pain in the ass as not all browsers hanadle them the same way as you will know, think your idea on player ID would resolve this as well as issuing alliance ID's

i think that it would be advantageous that the parser held historic data about names and alliances which would be easier based on player ID to link to colonies so that the information could be linear, it would also assist you to catch cheaters and make support tickets easier to deal with for account crashes

it wont make cheating dissapear however it will make that part of the job easier, also if you want to catch out the macro users thats easier and now i have a lot of tme on my hands can help more!
The darkest places in hell are reserved for those who maintain their neutrality in times of moral crisis.

 

birthmark-ant