Starfleet Commander Forum

Starfleet Commander => Conquest Universe => Topic started by: The Soloist on May 28, 2013, 09:19:12 PM

Title: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: The Soloist on May 28, 2013, 09:19:12 PM
I feel this should be true in all universes, but in this one especially, probes need to be removed from fleet count ranking.

I have over 500k probes and plan on building another 500k today.  I do not like how that inflates my fleet rank.

I have this many probes because I frequently need hydrogen at locations that may not have enough to launch an attack.  With as much crystal as I have, I would like to have 10 million probes.

At 10% speed, they are still really fast transports at reasonable (in emergency) hydrogen cost.

The negative is it looks like I am trying to inflate my fleet rank, and I am not.
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: .Ez on May 28, 2013, 10:25:17 PM
i have 6k probes and thought that was alot
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: Leebelee on May 28, 2013, 10:26:56 PM
Agreed

Bfg should look into updating the Leaderboard aspect completely, more detail for sure in some areas, Leaderboards used to reflect on how good a player you are, I am rank 3 at time of posting and I am not even trying and by no means as good as players I have come across in my time.
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: Vastet on May 28, 2013, 10:39:36 PM
I agree. I think fleet points should factor rsp in fleet a lot more. I don't have even 100k but I do have tens of thousands. It was both the only way to spend enough crystal so I could fleetsave plus as mentioned if you have enough probes it can be ridiculously useful to transfer hundreds of thousands or millions or more res in a minute or so round trip. And they are also the best ship for moonshots. But my fleet rank makes it look like I'm a lot more powerful than I am when I have 80000 probes and 133000 fleet points.
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: wesnalk on May 29, 2013, 10:32:37 AM
i have about 6k probes too where are these probes located and do you leave them overnight?!? :P
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: renykeny on May 29, 2013, 02:46:33 PM
thats idiotic probes have to stay in fleet count...they are awesome in battles as ships only rapid fire on them 5 times...in a crystal heavy uni they are one of the best ships you can built...
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: Zarchne on May 29, 2013, 03:07:39 PM
Moros and Erebus can only hit 3 of them per round, and the individual shot power of Erebus is so low that one hit from an Erebus may not even trigger the possibility of explosion.  Zeus and Thanatos do have healthy RF against them, though.
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: wesnalk on May 29, 2013, 03:14:56 PM
yeah attacking with zeus and thanes is just funny
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: Vastet on May 29, 2013, 03:59:41 PM
thats idiotic probes have to stay in fleet count...they are awesome in battles as ships only rapid fire on them 5 times...in a crystal heavy uni they are one of the best ships you can built...

Then why does 700 Artemis kill 6000 probes every time?
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: Plane Nutz on May 29, 2013, 04:36:20 PM
700 arts x 5 shots = 3,500 shots per round. two rounds and 6000 probes are toast, ignoring the overlapping fire, which would probably make it go a little longer.
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: Plane Nutz on May 29, 2013, 04:40:02 PM
Especially against a Moros and Erebus heavy force, probes are great decoys. Plus of all ships in the game, with the crystal overflows I have on a regular basis, probes are the least painful to rebuild.
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: Vastet on May 29, 2013, 04:41:43 PM
i have about 6k probes too where are these probes located and do you leave them overnight?!? :P

I did leave 6k out once or twice when I was looking for moons, but I frs them with the rest of my stuff now. Sorry. :P

@ Plane Nutz
Yep. Shows I should be finishing my coffee before I try basic maths in the morning. lol
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: Boris Alden on May 30, 2013, 08:06:56 AM
You forget that a solar sat is also a ship.

The fleet count is total ships which includes sats and probes.  You want the exact compo of someone you gotta work.

Taking out probes just sounds silly.

Of course having a whole bunch of probes is a good idea.
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: Plane Nutz on May 30, 2013, 08:10:06 AM
I wouldn't be surprised if someone has made a spreadsheet for that. Enter espi reports of all planets, fleet points, and total RSP and it makes a close guess of what they have out hiding in a harvest or attack somewhere.
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: Kinkstaah on May 30, 2013, 10:04:32 AM
Your probes have been removed.    Good day
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: Buffy on May 30, 2013, 03:38:39 PM
^ Sassy!  ;)
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: renykeny on May 30, 2013, 04:19:59 PM
 ;D...well he asked for it!....but seriously now sim your 6000 probes that you used to have added at the last sec to a battle with 700 athenas on both sides...or 300k of then in a battle with 10k of battleships on each side
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: Zarchne on May 30, 2013, 07:19:40 PM
Starting with evenly matched sides and adding fodder makes for an impressive demonstration, but I don't see it as being directly relevant to the game because evenly matched battles are usually avoided.  When I start with a more realistic situation where one side has three times the force of the other, I see that adding enough probes can turn a loss into draw, which might make an attacker unhappy, but they can't (usually?) turn a clear loss into a clear win.
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: Vastet on May 30, 2013, 07:43:36 PM
Well it does allow you to profitably hit a target which you otherwise could not hit profitably. Though I tend to agree that they won't be giving clearly inferior fleets any significant advantage.
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: The Soloist on May 31, 2013, 02:32:02 AM
Your probes have been removed.    Good day

lol yes they were. 
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: Vastet on May 31, 2013, 02:48:50 AM
I still have mine. :)
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: renykeny on May 31, 2013, 01:19:26 PM
actually the best use of probes is as fodder against heavy defenses as there is no rapid fire..but they are still one one the best ships in the game....the ability to add them to the battle at the last second is an incredible advantage...and it will tip many battles into a winning senario
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: The Soloist on June 02, 2013, 05:22:12 AM
I didnt say I didnt like them.  I have 1 million of them.

I just think they need to be removed from fleet count.

I honestly do not like showing that I have 1.5 million ships when 1 million of them are probes..
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: .Ez on June 02, 2013, 01:32:48 PM
I have 1 million of them.
had*
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: meeeeeee on June 02, 2013, 05:01:41 PM
They also work great at saving a heph either as fodder you have to cut through or when under attack sending them in a GD.
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: Geministar on June 03, 2013, 01:39:31 AM
What renykeny said,

T2 taught that pretty well, takes a lot of ships to cut through 1m probes (33,333 if they only hit the probes), and in a crystal rich environment, they are pretty valuable ( quick resource transport, last second battle addition, great fodder vs. defenses, etc.).

Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: The Soloist on June 03, 2013, 07:34:46 PM
had*

Yes, thank you for the correction :P
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: GHOST on June 03, 2013, 09:51:21 PM
WTF! Do you not know that probes are the best for rapid transit? Let yourself face the heat with little res somewhere and you need plenty fast. I mean really fast. +, they make for good moonshots to all your mates at a nominal fee of course.
Title: Re: Probes need to be removed from fleet count
Post by: DESERT FOX on February 16, 2015, 03:45:50 AM
How did this post avoid deletion? You weak #@$%&$ got all else wiped away.lol