contact
June 16, 2019, 12:53:36 PM

Author Topic: 60 Fields are too small for a Planet:  (Read 1056 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline youneedamouse

  • Member
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
60 Fields are too small for a Planet:
« on: March 14, 2010, 02:50:26 AM »
Hello:

     I am not really a Newbie, but I am a Newbie when it comes to Colonizing
other worlds.
    One thing that really bugs me is that some planets have way fewer fields
that others. And there doesn't seem to be any way to increase the number of
fields other than buying more.
   60 is way to few fields for a planet, 80 is just borderline.
I believe one needs at least:
   10+:  Ore
   10+:  Crystal
   10+:  Hydrogen
   10+:  Solar Array + Nuclear Power Plant
   2-8:  Shipyard
   2:      Capitol  (no reason to go higher when limit on Resource)
   1:      Research Lab (if higher on other planets)
   4:      Factory  (Any reason to add more?)
The Ore, Crystal and Hydrogen Warehouses can be 0 if only 10 on the top 3 and
have only 60 Fields.

   My questions though are:
1) Can I return/recycle a Field. for example if I don;t want Hydrogen Today but need
    Crystal, can I undo the Hydrogen to add more Crystal?

2)  I wish it were possible to tell before Colonizing a Planet, how many Fields it has?
     Perhaps these 'smaller' planets should have moons to compensate?

3) I saw an "Abandon This Planet" option. Is that a good option to use for low-Field
    Planets?  Is there anything I am missing?  Is there any advantage to colonizing a
    low-Field Planet over a Higher-Field Planet?

Thanks in advance:
Michael
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »

Offline Brian Gibson

  • Member
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: 60 Fields are too small for a Planet:
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2010, 05:11:37 AM »
1. Yes u can undo upgrades... just click the name of the building(in blue) next to its little image.. u'll get a pop up wndow with the option to downgrade.. but it costs nearly as much in  materials as it did to upgrade in the first place.. bugger it!..

2. 60 fields are u kidding me!!!... I have colonized planets over a 1,ooo times at least.. none of my 9 have less than 350 fields!.. If u were to send a Gaia ship to the same spot over and over again you would get a different field number every time.. thats why your unable to know in advance!!!... answering Q.3.. ABANDON.. yes.. but all you have done there will be lost.. bugger again!.. lol.. so make sure u send away all goods and ships or u will loss those to.. send gaia after gaia after gaia to the same spot until happy with fields number!.. so dont send goods on them as u may abandon it the second u get there and follow with another.. send goods on a herc as soon as your happy with it!.. Ive had spots give me a variance of anything from 22 - 361!!!... so be patient it may take a few!.. stay away from 1-4 and 11-15.. much harder for a high number!.. hope this helped.. Good gaming to ya.. B
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »

Offline Yogi

  • Member
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: 60 Fields are too small for a Planet:
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2010, 06:59:55 AM »
Quote from: "Brian Gibson"

2. 60 fields are u kidding me!!!... I have colonized planets over a 1,ooo times at least.. none of my 9 have less than 350 fields!..

Umm, isn't 320 the max in the draw when colonizing a new planet?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »

Offline Brian Gibson

  • Member
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: 60 Fields are too small for a Planet:
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2010, 07:45:18 AM »
I know dude, Ive read those notes around the place to!.. and just laughed to myself!

Dude Ive one thats 361!.. thats all I can tell ya!...
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »

Offline Hankubus

  • Member
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: 60 Fields are too small for a Planet:
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2010, 08:20:56 AM »
Quote from: "Brian Gibson"
Dude Ive one thats 361!.. thats all I can tell ya!...


Does that come with a free Cheshire cat and a hookah?
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »

Offline Brian Gibson

  • Member
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: 60 Fields are too small for a Planet:
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2010, 09:57:51 AM »
LOL!!!!!!! :lol: ... good one!....
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »

Offline youneedamouse

  • Member
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: 60 Fields are too small for a Planet:
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2010, 01:44:47 PM »
Well I have 5 planets and these are their Field and allocation:

1) My Home Planet:   120 of 163
2) 56 of 56  (I actually used most of my credits to increase this from 51)
3) 76 of 80
4) 60 of 60
5) 53 of 122  (just colonized this Yesterday)
 
    (If it matters, this on Extreme, I am still a (d) with one planet on the regular).

   Am I just having bad luck or what? If I colonize another planet will it likely
be the same or higher?
   If I colonize with more ships or resources or droids or more of anything else
will I get a larger Field allotment?

Thanks in advance:
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »

Offline vanvely

  • Member
  • Posts: 443
    • View Profile
Re: 60 Fields are too small for a Planet:
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2010, 05:32:37 AM »
Quote from: "Brian Gibson"
I know dude, Ive read those notes around the place to!.. and just laughed to myself!

Dude Ive one thats 361!.. thats all I can tell ya!...
361 fields? I assumed you were joking at first, but I can't be sure.
Are 320+ planets a new feature BFG made that nobody realized because such large planets are so rare? Maybe the devs could confirm this...
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »

Offline mad max

  • Member
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Re: 60 Fields are too small for a Planet:
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2010, 07:08:46 AM »
they are rare but not impossible... I once got a planet with only 31 fields even though the Wiki says that 40 is min. I dumped and after a few more tries I got 308. the may seem expencive now but it will be alot more expensive latter if you dont get enough fields.

When I colonize, I usuall try to do it an pairs if it is not going to be in my home system. The second one serviing as a resource colony for the primary. then I abandon the smaller one that larget planet has been build up a ways. als dump any planet ASAP that does not have atleast 140 fields. of course you should wait until your fleet slots are full. you may think you can get by with less but after you play this game for another month or 2 and the fields are all filled up your are going to wish you had not built on them. I personaly dont settle for less then 240 after learning such a mistake. I had to abandon a 140 field planet with level 20+ mines cause i needed more fields on the planet. that was a setback.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »

Offline jessejericho

  • Member
  • Posts: 247
    • View Profile
Re: 60 Fields are too small for a Planet:
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2010, 07:47:29 AM »
Quote from: "youneedamouse"
2) 56 of 56  (I actually used most of my credits to increase this from 51)
3) 76 of 80
4) 60 of 60
5) 53 of 122  (just colonized this Yesterday)

Abandon all of these and try again. Also check the wiki page for fields:

http://wiki.playstarfleet.com/index.php/Fields#Fields

It's not entirely accurate but it gives you a general idea.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »

Offline youneedamouse

  • Member
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: 60 Fields are too small for a Planet:
« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2010, 01:50:14 AM »
Well, some better news. Today I colonized 2 6th planets.
   The first I got 310 Fields.  The second I only got 144 Fields.

   What is most number of Fields you ever used on a planet?
I would think it would be difficult to exceed 200 Fields.
I wish it were possible to transfer Fields from one planet to another?

    But anyhow now that I have another planet with 310 Fields, I feel
so much better.

   I will abandon my 'lower' planets once I need more.  It is disappointing
to have 2 planets that I have run out of Fields on. Once a planet runs
out of Fields there is nothing much more to do except use what resources
it currently produces and eventually abandon it when more is needed.

   it might make a nice gift to some newbies, instead of disposing of the
planet, give it to someone who hasn't colonized yet and they can benefit
from some more resources and another planet to send fleets to and fro.

Thanks:
MIchael
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »

Offline SGS 6

  • Member
  • Posts: 1476
    • View Profile
Re: 60 Fields are too small for a Planet:
« Reply #11 on: March 17, 2010, 02:11:26 AM »
Quote from: "youneedamouse"
  it might make a nice gift to some newbies, instead of disposing of the
planet, give it to someone who hasn't colonized yet and they can benefit
from some more resources and another planet to send fleets to and fro.

This is not possible.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »
Uni 1: retired, formerly Silver Gate Squadron
Uni 2: Sheridan Starkiller, Leader of the Shadows (Shadows)
http://http://wiki.playstarfleet.com/index.php/Shadows_(Shadows)

Offline jessejericho

  • Member
  • Posts: 247
    • View Profile
Re: 60 Fields are too small for a Planet:
« Reply #12 on: March 17, 2010, 05:51:22 AM »
Quote from: "youneedamouse"
I will abandon my 'lower' planets once I need more.

Honestly you should just do this now - you're going to spend resources developing these planets, when you're just going to end up abandoning them anyway. I use over 100 fields on my feeder colonies, and that is basically mines, solar arrays, nuclear plants and a few levels of shipyard, more or less. Build some more Gaia's and get rid of them now.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »

Offline AbsolutZero

  • Member
  • Posts: 476
    • View Profile
Re: 60 Fields are too small for a Planet:
« Reply #13 on: March 17, 2010, 08:59:39 AM »
Quote from: "jessejericho"
Quote from: "youneedamouse"
I will abandon my 'lower' planets once I need more.

Honestly you should just do this now - you're going to spend resources developing these planets, when you're just going to end up abandoning them anyway. I use over 100 fields on my feeder colonies, and that is basically mines, solar arrays, nuclear plants and a few levels of shipyard, more or less. Build some more Gaia's and get rid of them now.

I agree, why would you want to spend upwards to several 100k resources upgrading a planet you're going to dump anyway? It's like buying your gf a diamond necklace right before you drop the news that there's this new, cute redhead at work...
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »
I was the 426,882 player to get an Athena, the 416,390 player to get a hades and the 222,716 person to get a Prometheus! Bow before my awesomeness!

Offline youneedamouse

  • Member
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: 60 Fields are too small for a Planet:
« Reply #14 on: March 18, 2010, 02:32:56 AM »
OK. Thanks for your advice.
I abandoned 2 of the planets and added 3, so I now have
7 planet in 2 Galaxies:

1) Home:  124 of 163, 12th Planet
2) 80 of 80,  3rd Planet, yes I will get rid of this soon, but not yet
3)  96 of 104,  12th Planet
4)  85 of 122, 7th Planet
5)  62 of 310, 6th Planet (next to previous planet)
6)  19 of 179,  6th Planet
7)   2 of 104, 5th Planet (this I will keep abandoning and colonizing until I get at-least 160.

  Still not great but alot better than a few days ago.   :)

  I still don't know what I did different to get the 310.
Has anyone used more than 180 Fields on a Planet?
 
   Is there any reason to have Factory more than 4?
Capitol more than 10?
Research Lab more than 1 (on an additional planet to the home one)

    I thus suspect one needs between 120 and 180 Fields on any long-term
Planets. With less than 120 one would likely run out of fields. I doubt anybody
would get more than 180 unless one plays for a very very long time.


Thanks:
Michael
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 12:00:00 AM by Guest »